Used Car Dealer Class I , II, III License

Used Car Dealer Class I, II, III Licenses are issued by the Pepperell Select Board and are governed by the Massachusetts General Laws Chapter 140 Section 57-59.  It takes approximately four to six weeks to process licenses.

License Classes

There are three different types of car dealer licenses:

  • Class I for new car dealers
  • Class II for used car dealers, and 
  • Class III for junk / salvage car dealers. 

Click here for the Massachusetts General Law description of the license class.

Please note that if applying for a Class II used car dealer license you will need a surety bond in the amount of $25,000 or a certificate of deposit or irrevocable letter of credit, as authorized by the State of Massachusetts.

A Dealer's Guide to: The MA Used Vehicle Warranty Law

Used Car Dealer Class I, II, III are valid January 1st to December 31st and renewed annually.

Annual Fee: $100 check made out to the Town of Pepperell

Be prepared to provide the following attachments as part of your application:

  • Floor plan (may be hand drawn) on 8 ½” X 11” size paper only, showing the proposed capacities, and layout of the premises;
  • Business Certificate, either:
    • Stamped Articles of Organization, if a Corporation. LLC Agreement if a Limited Liability Company. Partnership Agreement if a Partnership; or
    • A Business Certificate or D/B/A certificate from the Town Clerk’s Office, first floor of Town Hall (978-433-0339).
  • A signed lease or a letter of intent.
  • Criminal Record Information Form(s) for the owner(s) of the business, manager and each employee;
  • If have employees, proof of Worker’s Compensation;